Mouse-over image to preview, click goes to species


Go directly to a list of taxonomic groups


Main image

Marine cods are readily distinguished from other fishes in arctic waters by having 3 dorsal fins instead of 1 or 2, and 2 anal fins instead of 1. The family comprises 24 species, with 13 inhabiting arctic marine waters. Only two are primarily distributed in the Arctic Ocean: polar cod, Arctogadus glacialis; and Arctic cod, Boreogadus saida. The others are mainly North Pacific or North Atlantic species with less of a presence in the Arctic. Most cods are demersal or benthopelagic, living near, but not on, the bottom.  Their diet includes crustaceans, worms, molluscs, plankton, fish eggs, and fish fry.


Page Author: Kitty & Tony Mecklenburg
Created: January 20, 2009

Total view statistics