Mouse-over image to preview, click goes to group

Polar Bear Bowhead whale Grey Whale
Narwhal Beluga Walrus
Bearded Seal Ribbon Seal Ringed Seal
Spotted Seal Harp Seal Hooded Seal

Go directly to a list of taxonomic groups

Marine Mammals

Polar bear

What’s here?

This section provides images and background on the marine mammals of the Arctic. There are 12 species of marine mammals that regularly inhabit the Arctic: 4 species of whales, the polar bear, the walrus, and 6 species of ice-associated seals, Several addtional species (e.g. Sperm whales, Blue whales, Fin Whales, Humpback Whales, Killer Whales, Harbor Porpoise) are spotted occasionally or even regularly within marginal waters of the Arctic. These additional species will be added in the future.

Dispite ther distant relationship, all marine mammals share the common attribute of being predators that capture their prey on or in the oceans. All are relatively long lived, and virtually all are critical food resources to the indigenous peoples of the Arctic.

Page Author: Russ Hopcroft
Created: Aug 23, 2008

Total view statistics